Amstrad CPC examples

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    eric_boulat
    Participant

Hello,
    I am a quite bad programmer concerning Z80 assembly language. I am making an adventure game. A friend of mine will make me a music with Arkos Tracker and I want to play it, in a amstrad CPC basic program. The example you give in the documentation explains how to get rid of the amstrad system, and to load very low in the memory, the assembly routine and the music. In fact I didn’t understand this documentation. Do you have any amstrad CPC dsk files to show it more directly ?

In fact, my goal is to make a good introduction program for the game I am programming and my game uses mostly locomotive basic.

So I wanted to know if it is possible to play the music produced by arkos tracker with the locomotive basic still in memory. Or else, is it possible to play the music in a program that will restore the system after playing it and launch the basic program for my game ?

Ps : you can answer me in french if you want, english is not my mother tongue sacrebleu 😉

Targhan
    Keymaster

Hi,

Good suggestion. I’ve just made a tutorial about that:

Basic (CPC) integration

Please tell me if it works fine for you. A “Basic_CPC.asm” is mentioned but it will only be included in the next release. The source code is given in the tutorial.

eric_boulat
    Participant

Thanks Targhan,
    I’ll try that as soon as possible, if I don’t melt during this heat wave ! 😉

Regards,
    Eric

eric_boulat
    Participant

I’ve tried this example with the music “The last V8” included in Arkos Tracker 2.
    I used WinApe and Caprice32, Retro Virtual Machine and Sugar box with no luck.

I only got a note at the beginning and a few seconds later a low pitched sound and then nothing.

I will try another song to see if it’s only this one. I can’t try on a real CPC by now but nevertheless it would be annoying if only the people with a real CPC can enjoy it !

Regards.